UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards 2020

Data dodania: 15.11.2019 | Aktualizacja: 15.11.2019, 22:20:56

2020 UIA Prizes and Awards Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards    Entries closing: 30th November 2019

Organised by the UIA's Work Programme Architecture for All, the Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards were established to encourage and acknowledge architects who have created exemplary friendly, inclusive and accessible buildings and public spaces. Entries must demonstrate that they have met the highest standards of universal and inclusive design, where the completed buildings and places contribute to the quality of life of all those who may use them.

A special award will also be given for evidence based design research that makes a significant contribution to improved quality of life through facilitating a better understanding of human centred design and its application to the design of the built environment.

Award Categories 

  1. New Buildings
  2. Refurbished Existing Buildings, including Historic Buildings
  3. Public Realm
  4. Research


Built works designed by architect member(s) of a UIA Member Section that have been completed since 30 November 2016. 

Research by an architect or architects completed since 30 November 2016 which advances the theory and practice of friendly and inclusive design.


A medal and up to three (3) Honourable Mentions will be presented in each of the Categories 1, 2 & 3.

The winner of Category 4 and up to two Honourable Mentions will receive UIA Certificates.

The Jury reserves the right not to make any award if, in its opinion, no entry reaches the required standards.

Judging Criteria

Entries in Categories 1, 2, and 3 will be judged on the overall quality of design and how the project has addressed accessibility and inclusive design. In particular, the Jury will consider whether the quality of the architecture:

Entries in Category 4 will be judged on whether the research:



For Categories 1 – 3 the selection process will be in two (2) stages.


Categories 1-3, Stages 1 and 2.  Jury Members

Category 4 Jury Members

Awards Ceremony

Architecture for All will honour the winners of the third edition of “Friendly and Inclusive Spaces” at the official Awards Ceremony at the 27th UIA World Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from 19-23 July 2020.


Projects selected to go through to Stage 2 will be promoted through publication on the UIA and Architecture for All Work Programme websites, social media and/or journals as well as those of UIA member bodies. Press releases publicising the winners will also be sent to international media.

Submission Requirements here


The submission text must be in English. Links to further information may be in the entrants’ national language.

By submitting an entry participants accept the terms and conditions set out in the above Regulations of the Award. 

Contact us

All questions concerning these Awards and/or the AwardForce platform, please contact uia@uia-architectes.org with the subject line “Friendly and Inclusive Spaces” Awards.

To enter please click HERE

Udostępnij na:



Partnerzy SARP:
Bolix BP2 Budimex Equitone ESS Audio Jaga Kluś Kone Norlys Polflam Renson Renson Schueco Semmelrock Tarasola Wienerberger Wiśniowski
Powrót na górę