Five finalists announced for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced today the finalists for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009, one of the most important and prestigious prizes for international architecture. By supporting the Prize, the European Commission underlines the role of architecture as a driver for creativity and innovation and draws attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies.

The finalists are:

- Multimodal Center Nice Tramway, Nice (France) by Atelier Marc Barani
- Zenith Music Hall, Strasbourg (France) by Massimiliano and Doriana
 Fuksas
- University Luigi Bocconi, Milan (Italy) by Grafton Architects
- The Norwegian Opera & Ballet, Oslo (Norway) by Snøhetta
- Library, Senior Citizens' Centre and City Block Core Zone, Sant Antoni's District, Barcelona (Spain) by **RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes**







Multimodal Center - Nice Tramway

Zenith Music Hall

University Luigi Bocconi



The Norwegian Opera & Ballet



Library, Senior Citizens' Centre and City Block Core

Zone, Sant Antoni's District

With the support of the Culture 2000 programme of the European Union





The European Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture and Youth, Mr. Ján Figel' said: "Each of the projects selected today show that investing in European architectural talent, in creativity and innovation pays off. Stimulating new ideas and highlighting entrepreneurial efforts are also a key part of the European Year of Creativity and Innovation 2009. I am particularly pleased to see that the series of lectures about these finalist projects will be given by the architects themselves in Barcelona on April 22, in order to reach out to broader audiences. The winner of the Mies van der Rohe Award will be announced later on May."

The finalists were selected from 340 projects proposed by the Architects' Council of Europe member associations and the other national architectural associations and the Advisory Committee. The Jury, chaired by Francis Rambert is: Ole Bouman, Irena Fialová, Fulvio Irace, Luis M. Mansilla, Vasa J. Perović and Carme Pinós.

Francis Rambert, Chair of the Jury said today: "We were impressed by the quality of the selected projects, many of which explore important urban issues of infrastructure and regeneration, developing new typologies. Ranging widely in scale, each responds imaginatively to its particular context and brief."

Previous winners include, among others, Rem Koolhaas and Ellen van Loon, Zaha Hadid, Dominique Perrault, Peter Zumthor, Rafael Moneo and Álvaro Siza Vieira.

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009, funded through the EU Culture Programme, is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The Jury also awards a Special Mention Prize for emerging architect.

A traveling exhibition on the winners and runners-up is planned for September this year.

The EU Culture Programme also funds the European Border Breakers Awards, the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage and the forthcoming European Union Prize for Literature.

With the support of the Culture 2000 programme of the European Union





To find out more:

Mies van der Rohe Foundation: www.miesarch.com/en/award.html, www.miesarch.com/en/award.html, www.miesarch.html, <a href=

European Commission: Culture

Architecture Prize: http://ec.europa.eu/culture/our-programmes-and-

actions/doc1103 en.htm

Policy developments: http://ec.europa.eu/culture/index_en.htm

European Commission:

John Macdonald Sophie Andersson

+32 2 295 52 67 +32 2 295 02 08

Press contacts:

SCOOP COMUNICACIÓN BOLTON & QUINN

Pati Núñez / Yvette Colomer

miespress@miesbcn.com

<u>arquitectura@scoopcomunicacion.com</u> <u>tamsin@boltonquinn.com</u>





Erica Bolton / Tamsin Selby

erica@boltonquinn.com