

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Lary L. Sommers Tel: +1/815-777-4444 Email: info@chicagoathenaeum.org

THE CHICAGO ATHENAEUM ANNOUNCES THE 2009 INTERNATIONAL ARCHITECTURE AWARDS DEADLINE DECEMBER 1, 2008

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS, OCTOBER 15 2008. . . The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design in association with Metropolitan Arts Press Ltd. and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies are organizing the 2009 edition of the "International Architecture Awards®" as a way in which to honor the most outstanding contemporary architecture designed and built throughout the world.

<u>The International Architecture Awards</u> are the only global Awards Program in architecture of its kind, which was conceived and presented by the Museum and in partnership with The European Center for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies to give an important overview of design and architecture on a world scale.

The program is organized and curated by the Finnish architecture journalist and critic, Christian K. Narkiewicz-Laine. The deadline for 2009 submissions is <u>DECEMBER 1, 2008</u>.

Last year, hundreds of submissions for this awards program were received from the best and most renowned design firms in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and the Americas. The submissions ranged from new corporate headquarters, skyscrapers, institutions, sports and transportation facilities, airports, urban planning projects, sacred spaces, and private residences and multi-family housing designed by architects in their countries of origin or abroad for both built and unbuilt projects alike.

In 2008, one hundred and ten (110) projects in thirty-eight (38) nations were selected by a distinguished jury organized in New York at the New York Chapter/American Institute of Architects and by noted American architectural practitoners serving

-MORE-

INTERNATIONAL ARCHITECTURE AWARDS 2009 Page Two

as jury members. The awarded buildings and planning projects are exhibited in an inaugural exhibition in Florence Italy (November 2008) and the exhibition is scheduled to travel to other European locations in 2008-2009.

The 2008 award winners can be seen at the Museum's website at www.chi-athenaeum.org or at The European Centre's website at www.europeanarch.eu.

For 2009, the awards program considers new corporate headquarters, skyscrapers, institutions, sports and transportation facilities, interiors, urban planning projects, airports, and residences for awards, designed by architects in their countries of origin or abroad for both built and unbuilt projects alike, as of January 1, 2006.

The 2009 jury for awards is scheduled to take place in Europe with noted European architectural practitioners and architecture journalists serving as jury members. The awarded projects and other selected buildings will form an exhibition that is scheduled for an international tour in 2008-2009.

The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design founded "<u>The International Architecture Awards</u>" as a way in which to draw significant international attention to new buildings and planning projects being built and designed worldwide by the best international architecture offices and firms.

The program has a unique educational mission and public profile with the intent of promoting and celebrating new world architecture to a international audience of developers, real-estate executives, corporate business, design professionals, and the general public.

Entry forms are available on line at www. chi-athenaeum.org or at www.europeanarch.eu.

For more information, contact Lary L. Sommers at +1/815-777-4444 or FAX +1/815-777-2471 or by email: lary@chicagoathenaeum.org.

#

#

#

#

INTERNATIONAL ARCHITECTURE AWARDS 2009 Page Three

Architects awarded the 2008 "International Architecture Awards" include:

3 deluxe (Germany) aat + makoto yokomizo architects (Japan) Adamson Associates (USA) Agence d'Architecture Brochet-Lajus-Pueyo (France) Alison Brooks Associates Ltd. (Great Britain) APA Kuyiowicz & Associates (Polan) Archikubik (Spain) ARX Portugal Architectos, Ida. (Portugal) Ascot Corporation (Japan) at103 (Mexico) Atelier Tekuto Co. (Japan) Ove Arup + Partners (UK/USA)Behnisch Architetken (Germany) Bernardo Hinojasa Rodriguez (Mexico) BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group (Denmark) Bonilla Arquitectos (Mexico) bpg arquitectura (Mexico) Carbajal Solinas Verd Arquitectos (Spain) Mark Cavagnero Associates (USA) China State Construction and Engineering (China) Christian de Portzamparc (France) Collective Architecture (United Kingdom) Cristofani & Lelli Architetti (Italy) David Chipperfield Architects (Great Britain) dellakamp arquitectos (Mexioc) Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated (Canada) driendl*architects (Austria) Denton Corker Marshall (Great Britain) ECADI (China) Estudio Lamela (Spain) FARO Architecten (The Netherlands) feld72 Architecture and Urban Strategies (Austria) Forum Architects (Singapore) Friis & Moltke A/S (Denmark) Gianni Botsford Architects (Great Britain) Giorgio Borruso Design (USA) Giselbrecht + Partner (Austria) gm+ad Architects (UK) gmp-von Gerkan, Marg und Partner Architects (Germany) graft LLC. (USA) Foster + Partners (Great Britain) Hase Architect, Ltd. (Japan) Heerim Architects & Planners Co., Ltd. (South Korea) Henning Larsen Architects/Bateriid (Denmark) Hertl.Architetekten ZT KEG (Austria) hg merz architekten museumsgestalter (Germany) Higuera + Sanchez (Mexico) Hitoshi Abe + Atelier Hitochi Abe (Japan) Garca Correia Lda. (Portugal) Glen Howells Architects (Great Britain) GM+AD Architects (United Kingdom) Haworth Tompkins (Great Britain) HOK Sport Architecture (USA/UK) HOK Architecture (Canada/USA) Ingenhoven Architects (Germany) Jo Coenen & Co. Architekten (The Netherlands) John Lampros Architectes SARL (France) K2S Architects (Finland) Keith Williams Architects (Great Britain) Kengo Kuma & Associates (Japan)

INTERNATIONAL ARCHITECTURE AWARDS 2009 Page Four

KieranTimberlake Associates, LLP. (USA) Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates PC. (UK/USA) Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumburg Architects (Canada) KWK Promes (Poland) Lahdelma & Mahlamaki (Finland) Latz + Partner (Germany) Makoto Yamaguchi (Japan) MKLP Architects (Singapore) Marte.Marte Architekten (Austria) Mass Studies (Korea) Mitsuru Senda + Environment Design Institute (Japan) Naomi Sato Architects (Japan) NagaConcepts (Thailand) Odile Decq Beniot Cornette Architects and Planner (France) Office for Metropolitan Architecture (The Netherlands) Olafur Eliasson (Germany) Promontorio Architects (Portugal) Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects (USA) PTW Architects (China) Rafael Vinoly Architects PC. (USA) Ricardson Sadeki (USA) RMJM HK Ltd. (Great Britain) Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partnership (Great Britain) Rojkind Arquitectos (Mexico) Roccatelier Associati (Italy) Ryuichi Ashizawa Architects & Associates (Japan) SAIA Barbarese Topouzanov Architectes (Canada) Satoshi Okada Architects Inc. (Japan) Saucier +Perrotte Architectes (Canada) Serrano Monjaraz Arquitectos (Mexico) Shenzhen Design Institute (CSCEC+Design) (China) Shepley Bulfinch Richardson & Abbott (USA) Sheppard Robson (Great Britain) Shinichi Ogawa & Associates (Japan) Shirae Associates (Japan) Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP. (UK/USA) SmithGroup Incoroprated (USA) Souto Moura Arquitectos, S.A. (Portugal) Studio Zoppini Associati (Italy) Takenaka Corporation (Japan) Takeshi Nakashima / O.F.D.A. Associates (Japan) Taku Sakaushi/O.F.D.A. Associates (Japan) Tarh o Amayesh (Iran) Tetreault Parent Languedoc and Associates (Canada) Tomoyuki Utsumi/Miligram Studio (Japan) Turenscape (Beijing Turen Design Institute) (China) UNStudio (The Netherlands) Van den Oever, Zaaijer en Partners (The Netherlands) Virlogeux Michel (France) VK Studio (Belgium) Vladimir Djurovic Landscape Architects (Lebanon) Votrongnghia Co. Ltd. (Vietnam) Wilson Architecture (Ireland) Zaha Hadid Architects (Great Britain)